You are here

Fatigue and the future

Categories:

Hi all,

I was diagnosed with CML just over a month ago. I was put onto imatinib 400mg straight away, and I had an initial dip in white blood cells and platelets and they've now gone to normal levels (which I'm told is good news!) But I do have a lot of side effects, nausea, stomach pain and just general stomach unhappiness, bone pain.. but most importantly fatigue. I've taken my hours down to 6 hours a day but it feels like I'm working twice that. Does anyone have experience with this, does it get easier? Are there ways to get more energy?. I've had my pay cut so I can't work any less hours. I'm also scared about what it means for my career, I'm 31 but I'm pretty much at the bottom of the ladder, and I work in science and don't get paid much already. I was hoping to do a PhD next year alongside my job, to eventually improve my pay and job prospects (I've been working for 5 yrs+ in the field but hard to move up without a PhD) but that seems crazy now I can't even work half my usual job ...

What does CML look like long term? Should I be trying to adjust more now? are there careers that might use my skills but be more flexible and forgiving? - as with most of science im on a temp contract so I'll need to find a new job in a few months either way. Which is majorly freaking me out as I'll have to start looking and making choices soon.

Any advice really appreciated! :)

Kes, initial side-effects usually begin to moderate after a month, or so, on a TKI.  Other than that  you could try splitting your Imatinib 400mg dosage; taking 200mg in the morning and the other 200mg 12 hours later in the evening.  It should help to lessen the side-effects.  

Wishing you good luck,
Buzz

Hi Buzz,

Thank you for responding. Have you seen that most people go back to their normal energy? Or somewhere in between?

Thank you! Kes